Menu Close

Industry Specific international Standards

There are many industry specific international standards other than ISO 9000 family. ISO 9000 family is the most widely used Quality Management System across the world. This is not specific to any Industry or Group of Industries. The requirements specified in ISO 9001 are generic and can be applied to a grocery shop to a Large OEM. However, some of the Industries have felt the need for inclusion of specific Requirements based on the industry conditions. These are further included in the ISO family of standards with a distinct identification. Generally these are built upon ISO 9001 Quality Management System, with additional requirements. Whenever the ISO 9001 Standard changes, these industry specific standards are also changed.
I have put together the list of standards which are applicable for different industries. Although there is a huge list, we have added few things which are adopted by major industries.
Standard Industry Standard Prepared by and controlled by
ISO 9001:2008 General ISO
ISO/TS16949:2009 Automotive International Automotive Task Force (IATF)
ISO/IEC 17025 Laboratory ISO
ISO/AS 9100 Rev C Aerospace IAQG
ISO 22000 : 2012 Food Industry ISO
ISO/TS 29001:2010 Petroleum, petrochemical and natural gas industries ISO

In addition to these there are many other international standards which are industry specific, which are not listed above. However, these are not so popular as the ones listed above.

The OEMs in these industries insist that the suppliers be certified to or at least complaint to the industry specific standards. This will help reduce the pressure on these companies for supplier inspections rigor. This will also help the suppliers to reduce the number of audits faced. This way the cost of audit on both the supplier and the OEM are reduced.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: